Skip to content

Orson Scott Card, Column: The Gifts of Conference

March 23, 2015

Many times, words that are said from the pulpit by General Authorities are responding to misconception or misbehavior that most of us are unaware of.

“Why is he talking about that?” we might wonder; but the answer invariably is: “Because somebody has gotten this wrong. Somebody needs to hear it and correct their own words and actions in order to conform with the Apostles’ understanding of the gospel.”

And I must say that in my own experience, whenever I find myself tempted to reject something a Conference speaker says, what I really need to do is repent of my pride in my own understanding, and bend my mind and heart to include truth that I had been ignoring.

Remember that for General Conference to have its full value, we must “receive these things” by asking “God, the Eternal Father, in the name of Christ, if these things are not true.” We have the promise that “if ye shall ask with a sincere heart, with real intent, having faith in Christ, he will manifest the truth of it unto you, by the power of the Holy Ghost.”

Leave a Comment

Thoughts?

